Washington County

Board of Commissioners

Commissioner Pages

Commissioner Meeting Schedule

About the Commissioners

The Washington County Board of Commissioners is elected to serve for a term of four years. During this time the commissioners are responsible for the fiscal affairs of Washington County including the annual budget, levying of real estate taxes, and the investment of county funds.

Boards of Directors

Persons are appointed to serve on a number of boards of directors such as the planning commission, transportation, tourism promotion, or housing authority by the commissioners each year. The commissioners serve on the following boards directly related to county government: elections, retirement, sinking fund, salary, and prison. Likewise, commissioners have seats on other boards which impact Washington County including, but not limited to, Southwestern Pennsylvania Commission, Conservation District, and Washington County Council on Economic Development.

County Staff Employment

Through the organizational structure of Washington County, the commissioners approve the employment of the county staff. Daily operations of county government are administrated via four primary departments: chief clerk / administrator, solicitor, human services, and planning. Each of these departments manages a number of other departments which provide direct services to the residents of Washington County. County business is conducted at public meetings held in Courthouse Square located in the county seat of Washington, Pennsylvania.


95 W Beau St, Washington, PA 15301 | 724-228-6700